2009 NESA Merit Scholarships

Yesterday, we featured information on the National Eagle Scout Association Academic Scholarships, today the focus is on the NESA Merit Scholarships, tomorrow “Other” Eagle Scout Scholarships.

The NESA Merit Scholarship is called the Hall/McElwain Merit Scholarship. Each BSA region reviews applications and awards a varying number of these $1,000 scholarships.

NESA merit scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts graduating high school or undergraduate college students no farther than completion of the junior year. Recipients may receive the scholarship one time only.

The number of scholarships awarded varies annually depending on the funds available. You must apply through the region in which you earned your Eagle rank. This scholarship is for tuition, room, board, and books only. This scholarship is not available to students attending any of the U.S. military academies, because at these academies expenses covered by NESA scholarships are already paid by the United States government.

The scholarship is limited to use at a four-year college/university that is accredited by recognized accreditation agencies and offers at least a bachelor’s degree upon completion of the course of study offered.

NESA Merit Scholarship Requirements:
1. Be an Eagle Scout and have received credentials from the national office.

2. Submit applications that are postmarked after October 1, 2008, but no later than midnight on January 31, 2009. Use sufficient postage.

3. Be a graduating high school senior or an undergraduate college student no later than completion of the junior year. You may receive the scholarship one time only.

4. Have demonstrated leadership ability in Scouting and a strong record of participation in activities outside of Scouting.

5. Provide one signed recommendation letter from a volunteer or professional Scout leader (please list Scouting title on the letter) who knows the applicant personally. This letter should attest to the general character of the applicant. This is the only endorsement required. Endorsements from teachers, counselors, etc., will not be accepted.

Note: Please enclose a stamped, self-addressed postcard that will be initialed, dated, and returned to let you know your application has been received. We will not search to ensure your application has been received.

According to the National Eagle Scout Association website, more than 5,000 NESA scholarship applications are received each year, and fewer than 100 are awarded, so the competition is fierce.

NESA Eagle Scout Merit Scholarship Application

Applications must be postmarked prior to midnight on January 31, 2009.

Related Posts


[…] the National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) Academic Scholarship, and the NESA Merit Scholarships, which we have covered over the past two days, there are other scholarships available to Eagle […]

By Other Eagle Scout Scholarships | Scouting News on December 21st, 2008 at 10:09 pm


Search in the site

Scoutingnews.org It is not officially affiliated with the Boy Scouts of America, the Girl Scouts of the USA or the World Organization of Scout Movements.